Tue, 31 Aug | Hotel Schweizerhof, Bern

Switzerland and Neutrality - Challenge in a globalized world?

Discuss the challenges for Swiss neutrality in a globalised world with experts and decision-makers from science, business and public administration. Participation fee: CHF 80.- (free entry for members as well as students and apprentices)
Switzerland and Neutrality - Challenge in a globalized world?

Time and location

31 Aug, 18:00 – 20:00
Hotel Schweizerhof, Bern, Bahnhofpl. 11, 3001 Bern, Schweiz

About the event

There is hardly any other political issue where the Swiss are as unanimous as on neutrality: 96% of the Swiss people surveyed spoke out in favor of maintaining neutrality in the annual “Sicherheit 2020” study by the Center for Security Studies . From the point of view of the study authors, neutrality has become part of the cultural identity of the Swiss population .

 

On closer inspection, however, there is a high degree of disagreement among the population regarding the implementation of Swiss neutrality policy . Foreign, security and economic policy issues such as Switzerland's membership in international organizations, cooperation with foreign armed forces or arms exports regularly cause controversial discussions.

 

So do we need a new definition of Swiss neutrality? We invite you to discuss the following questions with experts at the FSS Security Talk:

  • What significance does the principle of neutrality under international law still have in the 21st century in view of advancing globalization?
  • How can neutrality be preserved in a globalized world with changing alliances ?
  • What are the strategic and political implications of an “armed neutrality” strategy?
  • How can Switzerland use its economic potential for a successful foreign trade and neutrality policy?

We are pleased to welcome four renowned experts to the 8th SSF Security Talk with former Federal Councilor Micheline Calmy-Rey, Ambassador Pälvi Pulli , Head of Security Policy DDPS, Prof. Dr. Oliver Diggelmann and Ambassador Thomas Greminger, Director of the Geneva Center for Security Policy. For the subsequent panel discussion, we are pleased to welcome National Councilor and FPC member Elisabeth Schneider-Schneiter.

 

Here you can download the detailed event programme and register. If you have any questions about this event, please send an email to: sekretariat@forum-sicherheit-schweiz.ch

 

Share even

mar. 31 août | Hôtel Schweizerhof, Berne

La Suisse et la neutralité - un défi dans un monde globalisé?

Discutez du sens et du non-sens de la neutralité suisse avec des experts et des décideurs de la science, de l’économie et de l’administration publique. Prix d'entrée: CHF 80.- (entrée gratuite pour les étudiants et les personnes en formation)
La Suisse et la neutralité - un défi dans un monde globalisé?

Date et lieu

31 août à 18:00 – 20:00
Hôtel Schweizerhof, Berne, Bahnhofpl. 11, 3001 Bern, Schweiz

Sur l'événement

Il n'y a guère de question politique sur laquelle les Suisses sont aussi unanimes que la neutralité : 96% des Suisses interrogés dans le cadre de l'étude annuelle "Sécurité 2020" du Center for Security Studies sont favorables au maintien de la neutralité. Selon les auteurs de l'étude, la neutralité fait désormais partie de l'identité culturelle de la population suisse.

 

Cependant, un examen plus approfondi révèle un degré élevé de désaccord au sein de la population concernant la mise en œuvre de la politique de neutralité de la Suisse. Les questions de politique étrangère, de sécurité et d'économie, telles que l'adhésion de la Suisse aux organisations internationales, la coopération avec les forces armées étrangères ou les exportations d'armes, donnent régulièrement lieu à des discussions controversées.

 

Faut-il donc une nouvelle définition de la neutralité suisse? Nous vous invitons à discuter des questions ci-dessous avec des experts lors du FSS Security Talk:

  • Quelle est la signification du principe de neutralité du droit international au XXIe siècle, compte tenu de l'avancée de la mondialisation?
  • Quelles sont les implications stratégiques et politiques d'une stratégie de "neutralité armée"?
  • Comment maintenir la neutralité dans un monde globalisé les alliances changent?
  • Comment la Suisse peut-elle exploiter son potentiel économique pour mener à bien une politique commerciale et de neutralité?

Nous avons le plaisir d'accueillir quatre experts de renom, l'ancienne conseillère fédérale Micheline Calmy-Rey, l'ambassadeur Pälvi Pulli, chef de la politique de sécurité du DDPS, le professeur Oliver Diggelmann et l'ambassadeur Thomas Greminger, Dirécteur du Geneva Center for Security Policy, à l'occasion du 8e FSS Security Talk. Pour le débat suivant, nous avons le plaisir d'accueillir la conseillère nationale et membre de la CPE Elisabeth Schneider-Schneiter.

 

Vous pouvez télécharger ici le programme détaillé de l'événement et vous inscrire. Si vous avez des questions sur cet événement, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : sekretariat@forum-sicherheit-schweiz.ch.

Partager l'événement